Public Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility (PPIAF)

Title Public Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility (PPIAF)
E-mail, phone number and mailing address

World Bank
1818 H Street, NW
Washington, DC 20433

Tel: (+1) 202 458-5588


Facility URL
Facility Objectives

Established in 1999 as a joint initiative of the governments of Japan and the United Kingdom, the Public-Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility (PPIAF) is a multi-donor technical assistance facility that is financed by 11 multilateral and bilateral donors. Working closely with and housed inside the World Bank Group, PPIAF is a catalyst for increasing private sector participation in emerging markets, enabling the public sector to attract private sector participation and investment in infrastructure.  PPIAF’s mission is to help eliminate poverty and increase shared prosperity in developing countries by facilitating private sector involvement in infrastructure.

Key activities
PPIAF assists governments in removing the obstacles that impede private sector participation in infrastructure projects.  Through grants and technical assistance, PPIAF helps governments of low and middle income and fragile countries to create and strengthen a sound enabling environment for private participation and investment in infrastructure, through activities such as: 
  • Framing infrastructure development strategies;
  • Designing and implementing policy, regulatory, and institutional reforms;
  • Organising stakeholder consultation workshops;
  • Building government institutional capacity;
  • Designing and implementing pioneering projects (up to prefeasibility stage)
PPIAF’s strategy emphasises the need to deliver technical assistance via programmes that accelerate infrastructure investment and maximise impact. Programmatic technical assistance is designed to tackle multiple aspects of the enabling environment in a country, region, or sector over the course of one or more years, to achieve wide-ranging objectives. PPIAF’s programmatic approach is organised by thematic priority areas – access to infrastructure finance, creditworthiness, energy efficiency, PPP institution building and regional integration.
Type of finance provided

Grants; technical assistance and knowledge

Size of project supported

No minimum or maximum

Range of funding provided (min/max)

No minimum or maximum, though average support is between US$300,000 - US$400,000

Beneficiaries supported

Public sector; national and provincial governments; state-owned enterprises; PPP units; municipalities;

Project type

Regional; cross-border; national; sub-national

Project preparation phases supported

Enabling environment for private sector participation and sectorial regulations; project definition and prefeasibility

Application process
Funding applications must originate from, or be endorsed by, the relevant senior official in the beneficiary country or regional entity, as well as by the relevant Country Management Unit (CMU) at World Bank. PPIAF awards grants based on strategic value, likelihood of achieving their intended outcomes, reasonableness of requirements, and availability of funds.
PPIAF funding is highly competitive. Within each funding review period, PPIAF can have a pipeline of proposals that far exceeds the total available funds for allocation. Proposals are not only selected on their own merit, but also compared against other proposals received.
Proposals that identify clear implementation partnerships and feature co-financing by other development partners are preferred. Priority is given to applications that cover poverty; gender; fragility and low capacity; climate resilience, and regional integration.
Eligibility exclusions
None as long as part of targeted sectors.
Countries Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Subscribe to our Newsletter

This week's must-sees

Interviews, article, discussions, news of the week

Each Friday, at 8PM (Paris GMT), the Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA) selects for you the moments you should not miss

To subscribe:

Subscribe now

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.