African Development Fund

Title African Development Fund
E-mail, phone number and mailing address

Immeuble du Centre de Commerce International d'Abidjan (CCIA)
Avenue Jean-Paul II
01 BP 1387
Abidjan 01
Côte d'Ivoire

Facility URL
Facility Objectives

The ADF was established in 1972 and is administered by the African Development Bank (AfDB). It comprises 29 contributing countries and benefits 38 countries, of which nearly half are classified as fragile or conflict-affected states. The ADF has invested US$ 45bn since it became operational in 1974.

Key activities
As the concessional financing window of the African Development Bank group, the African Development Fund (ADF) provides low income Regional Member Countries (RMCs) with concessional loans and grants, guarantees as well as technical assistance for studies and capacity building in support of projects and programmes that spur poverty reduction and economic development.
Type of finance provided

Loans; reimbursable advances; risk guarantees; credit guarantees; technical assistance

Size of project supported

Small, medium and large scale

Range of funding provided (min/max)

No minimum; maximum US$ 1.4m (UA 1m)

Beneficiaries supported

Governments; RECs; publicly-owned utilities; sub-national authorities; public sector; public-private partnerships

Project type

National; regional

Project preparation phases supported

Enabling environment; project definition; project feasibility; project structuring; transaction support; post-implementation support

Application process Applications to the ADF must be made by the government, governments or REC requesting a PPF advance for the preparatory activities of a specific operation. 
Eligibility exclusions Private sector developers cannot apply direct to the ADF but must be in partnership with a public sector institution (PPP), whose government will apply on behalf of the partnership.
Countries Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Subscribe to our Newsletter

This week's must-sees

Interviews, article, discussions, news of the week

Each Friday, at 8PM (Paris GMT), the Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA) selects for you the moments you should not miss

To subscribe:

Subscribe now

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.