12 million dollars to improve ICT in West African universities

15 February 2011

UNESCO has signed a financing agreement with the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) with a value of 12 million dollars to finance a project to improve ICT infrastructures in West African universities.

Lasting three years, this project is aimed at developing the use of ICT by creating a virtual library interconnected at regional level and the installation of infrastructures giving access to ICT, such as fiber-optic Internet via a minimum of 200 computers per campus.

Soumaïla Cissé, president of the UEMOA, said in a press release from UNESCO to be "conscious that education is the key to the future, as emerging countries are founded on the quality of human resources".

"With the expert assistance of UNESCO, this project will empower teachers, students and researchers", he added.

The Member States of the UEMOA are Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Niger, Mali, Senegal and Togo.

Category: ICT

Subscribe to our Newsletter

This week's must-sees

Interviews, article, discussions, news of the week

Each Friday, at 8PM (Paris GMT), the Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA) selects for you the moments you should not miss

To subscribe: p.wolmer@afdb.org

Subscribe now

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.