Back to results

Transport-Trade Facilitation (CEMAC) Project—PID


The Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) which includes Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAR), Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon, was officially created in 1994 to replace the previous formal and ineffective customs union UDEAC (Union Douanière des Etats d’Afrique Centrale). Intra-regional trade among the six countries is still very limited, currently close to 5% of the total trade in the region, due to the the current transit system which hinders regional integration, the poor condition of road infrastructure, and the lack of complementarity between the economies in the region.

The project will contribute to enhance regional trade and integration and will specifically provide the landlocked countries RCA and Chad with a better access to the Port of Douala through : (i) assistance to the strengthening of the CEMAC Customs Union; (ii) improvement of the road infrastructure and good transportation along the main transit corridors to the hinterland.

Publication date
Document type
Document Link
Document Link

Category: Transport

Subscribe to our Newsletter

This week's must-sees

Interviews, article, discussions, news of the week

Each Friday, at 8PM (Paris GMT), the Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA) selects for you the moments you should not miss

To subscribe:

Subscribe now

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.