Back to results

Niger Basin Water Resources Development and Sustainable Ecosystems Management Project—PID

Ousmane Dione

The Niger River provides the economic mainstay for its nine riparian countries – Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Niger and Nigeria. It is  Africa’s third longest river (4,200 km) with a basin area of nearly 1.5 million km2. Despite the Basin’s tremendous potential for development and investment, it still remains underdeveloped, limiting economic growth and the means to improve the livelihoods of its population. The potential to harness the water resources from the river for hydropower, irrigable lands, productive agriculture, fisheries and improved navigation to promote flow of goods and people across borders has still to be developed.

Publication date
Document type
Document Link
Document Link

Categories: Water, Energy, Climate Change, Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Cameroon, Chad, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Nigeria

Subscribe to @ISSUE

Subscribe to our quarterly newsletter to get up-dates from the ICA

Subscribe now

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.